Young writers, from left, front row: Reese Evans; Maya Woodhall; Xavier Williams; Charlotte Blair; Sophia Granata; Illianna Martinez; back row: Ciara Lynch; Elaina Stumpf; Nico Sorce; Michael Lombardi; Dean Saccardi; Carter Orr and Sara El Moustakim.

WASHINGTON >> ASAP! hosted its 12th annual Celebration of Young Writers on June 3 at The Gunnery in Washington.

This year’s writers included 12 students from Litchfield, New Haven, and Fairfield counties.

The young writers include Charlotte Blair, Sara El Moustakim, Reese Evans, Sophia Granata, Ciara Lynch, Carter Orr, Illianna Martinez, Dean Saccardi, Nico Sorce, Elaina Stumpf, Maya Woodhall, and Xavier Williams.

Each writer was celebrated as they read his or her piece on stage to an audience of more than 350.

Actor and musician Michael Lombardi best known for his role as Mike Silletti on the critically acclaimed FX cable hit series “Rescue Me” hosted the event.

Jill Faherty Lloyd was this year’s honoree. Jill served on the ASAP! board for nearly ten years and as President for seven, leading strategic planning, finance, budgeting, and major donor development efforts.

The evening concluded with a presentation of the Frank McCourt Prize for Excellence in Teaching from Ellen McCourt to Kim Harrell, a teacher at King Philip Middle School in West Hartford.

The Frank McCourt honors the spirit of McCourt, a teacher for more than 30 years before gaining distinction with his Pulitzer-Prize winning memoir “Angela’s Ashes” followed by “Tis” and “Teacher Man”.